SO THIS IS 37…

Woke up today and turned 37, it is just but a norm for most of us to cringe when that day comes. I used to say “shit! I’m turning nth this year”. We are so obsessed with numbers and society has been so harsh that the norm nowadays is the younger the better or in some sense a younger physique equates to life, fertility, hope and a whole lot of breathe of fresh air.

I used to be one of those who think of birthdays as like a big announcement, pronouncing to yourself and the world that your age is adding up. The higher the number goes, the slimmer the things you will and can do. I also used to be fearful when the year turns, as I don’t want my younger siblings to grow fast. Fast forward to now and up to this day, I technically changed my perception of how things are going to be. Birthdays or no birthdays, the future older me and the once younger me. 37 is not a “late 30s” or “early 40s”, I mean where did these gauge and bracket come from? I’m 37 but I thought and see myself as 27 still, that’s what I felt in the past 5 years. In those 5 years, there was no magic pill, nor a time machine that calibrated my brain and thinking. It was nothing but just self-perception.

Self-perception, how you see things, how you interpret scenarios, circumstances, and how you eventually took a ride, your life. We all have our own better way of living it, and I think the best way to is knowing what you want and what makes you feel good. Yesterday, I did an early celebration with my close friends whom I consider family; an early celebration with them because on my birthday I want to celebrate me.

It’s that only day that I can do things that give me a sense of “ah, this is life”. From the simplest things that give me pleasure, and by pleasure means, undisturbed silence, not wearing my watch on this specific day, letting the time go smoothly, enjoy my subway sandwich in that little corner and have my caramel macchiato in Starbucks and write this blog. I’m not a fan of Starbucks itself, but i do love only one drink,and that’s caramel macchiato, so I picked to have one today.

Knowing what you want and what makes you feel good is the ultimate ride of your life. Forget age, numbers, and years, it is synonymous to keep on looking at the gas meter while taking a scenic ride. Glance once or twice, take the pit stop for a break or stop when it is needed, take a different route when the road seems to be boring or not what you want. To make the trip more meaningful, take someone with you or better yet do it solo.

No matter how long the ride takes and sometimes it’s no longer the ride that you want, you can always drive back home, to Your Self.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.